Winter 2022 (Volume 32, Number 4)

Awards, Appointments, and Accolades

Download PDF

Aileen Davis, BScPT, MSc, PhD
ARP Distinguished Scholar Award

Dr. Aileen Davis is the recipient of the 2022 Association of Rheumatology Professionals (ARP) Distinguished Scholar Award, which recognizes a member who demonstrates exceptional achievements in scholarly activities pertinent to arthritis and the rheumatic diseases. As a physiotherapist and clinical epidemiologist, she has published and lectured extensively on patient evaluation and outcomes in arthritis. Her research focused on models of care for osteoarthritis (OA) including development, implementation and evaluation of care pathways to improve access to services for people having total hip or knee replacement, and implementation and evaluation of evidence-based non-surgical management for people with hip and knee OA. Aileen was a Senior Scientist at the Krembil Research Institute, University Health Network, and is currently Professor Emeritus at the University of Toronto.

Sue MacQueen, PT, BScPT, ACPAC
ARP Ann Kunkel Advocacy Award

Sue MacQueen received the 2022 Association of Rheumatology Professionals (ARP) Ann Kunkel Advocacy Award which recognizes an ARP member who has provided extraordinary service to advocate for patients with arthritis and rheumatic diseases or for health professionals in rheumatology. Sue is also a member of the Arthritis Health Professions Association (AHPA) and was the AHPA President 2018 – 2020.

Over her career, Sue has advocated for models of care that improve access to care for people living with arthritis. As an Advanced Clinician Practitioner in Arthritis Care (ACPAC)-trained therapist, she has provided support for the Pediatric Rheumatology Program at Children’s Hospital in London, Ontario, and many of the local rheumatologists in Waterloo and Wellington counties. Sue recently retired after 33 years as a physiotherapist with the Arthritis Society but remains active within AHPA.

Proton Rahman, MD, FRCPC
Order of Newfoundland and Labrador

The Order of Newfoundland and Labrador is the province’s highest honour for ”demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour benefiting in an outstanding manner Newfoundland and Labrador and its residents.” Dr. Rahman was recognized for his many contributions to rheumatology care and research locally, nationally, and internationally, as well as his efforts in leading the COVID-19 Predictive Analysis Team that helped shape and guide the province’s pandemic response. Dr. Proton Rahman is a clinician scientist in St. John’s Newfoundland. He is a practicing rheumatologist and a University Research Professor at Memorial University.


The access code to enter this site can be found on page 4 of the most recent issue of The Journal of the Canadian Rheumatology Association (CRAJ) or at the top of the most recent CRAJ email blast you received. Healthcare professionals can also obtain the access code by sending an email to

Remember Me