Fall 2022 (Volume 32, Number 3)

Awards, Appointments, and Accolades

Download PDF

Dr. Elizabeth Hazel – McGill Faculty Honour List

Dr. Elizabeth Hazel was nominated by the Department of Medicine for the prestigious McGill Faculty Honour List for Educational Excellence. The goal of this award is to recognize outstanding contributions to education in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, in the areas of teaching, educational leadership and innovation, faculty development, and research and scholarly activity.

She was honoured for her work in restructuring rheumatology resident curriculae and in advancing rheumatology education at the local and national levels, including her work in building a national rheumatology resident curriculum that meets the needs of today’s learners.

Dr. Susan Humphrey-Murto – RCPSC Duncan Graham Award

Dr. Susan Humphrey-Murto received the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) Duncan Graham Award for recognition of outstanding contribution to medical education.
Dr. Humphrey-Murto has engaged in and supported educational research throughout her career. Past positions include Deputy Registrar for the Medical Council of Canada and Co-Chair for the Education Research and Development Committee (RCPSC). She currently holds a Tier 2 Research Chair for medical education research from the University of Ottawa. She has published in the areas of performance-based assessment, rater bias, learner education handover, and the use of consensus group methods such as the Delphi in research. Through her roles as the Medical Education Fellowship Director and research supervisor, she has mentored many young scholars.

Dr. Sahil Koppikar – WCH Teacher/Educator Education Award

Dr. Sahil Koppikar received the Women’s College Hospital (WCH) Teacher/Educator Education Award, which recognizes a healthcare professional who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to clinical teaching or to clinical supervision of students/learners at Women’s College Hospital and the University of Toronto.

Dr. Koppikar is a Clinician-Teacher at Women's College Hospital, University of Toronto. He is also the Director of the Timmins Arthritis Program and Chair of the Northern Ontario Committee of the Ontario Rheumatology Association.

Dr. Alan Rosenberg – Saskatchewan Order of Merit

Dr. Alan Rosenberg is a recipient of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, the province’s highest honour. The award recognizes Dr. Rosenberg’s contributions to pediatric and pediatric rheumatology care, research, and teaching. Dr. Rosenberg, a pediatric rheumatologist, is a University of Saskatchewan professor and Director of the Pediatric Rheumatic Disease Research Laboratory. He is co-founder of the Children's Health Foundation of Saskatchewan, which paved the way for the realization of Saskatchewan’s Jim Pattison Children’s Hospital. Recognizing the value of collaboration, he facilitates partnerships to improve child health, advance research, and inspire the next generation of care providers and scientists.

Dr. Dharini Mahendira – William Goldie Prize for Teaching

Congratulations to Dr. Dharini Mahendira on receiving the William Goldie Prize for Teaching. This prize is awarded to a member of the Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto who has made a contribution of notable merit to the training of physicians through teaching. The Goldie Prize is considered one of the highest teaching awards for early-to-mid-career faculty at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Mahendira is a Clinician Teacher at St. Michael’s Hospital, University of Toronto, who has been recognized both locally and nationally for her excellence in teaching and education. Her contributions to several CRA educational initiatives include co-leading the post-graduate medical education sub-committee and the National Rheumatology Residents Curriculum.

The CRAJ would like to recognize the contributions of its readers to the medical field and their local communities. To have any such awards, appointments, or accolades announced in an upcoming issue, please send recipient names, pertinent details, and a brief account of these honours to Picture submissions are greatly encouraged.


The access code to enter this site can be found on page 4 of the most recent issue of The Journal of the Canadian Rheumatology Association (CRAJ) or at the top of the most recent CRAJ email blast you received. Healthcare professionals can also obtain the access code by sending an email to

Remember Me