Summer 2019 (Volume 29, Number 2)

Awards, Appointments, and Accolades

Download PDF

Dr. Rick Adachi – Herbert A Fleisch ESCEO-IOF Medal

Professor Jonathan D. Adachi has been awarded the prestigious Herbert A. Fleisch ESCEO-IOF Medal at the World Congress on Osteoporosis, Osteoarthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases. The Medal is named after the late Professor Herbert A. Fleisch, a renowned investigator whose ground-breaking work contributed to the development of the field of scientific knowledge about metabolic bone diseases and their treatment. It is awarded annually by the European Society for Clinical and Economic Aspects of Osteoporosis, Osteoarthritis & Musculoskeletal Diseases (ESCEO) and the International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) to a researcher who has made outstanding achievements in bone and osteoporosis research.

Dr. Adachi is a Professor of Medicine at McMaster University. He has been involved in clinical trials and epidemiologic research including the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)-funded Canadian Multicentre Osteoporosis Study (CaMos) study examining risk factors for bone loss and establishing normal bone density values in men and women and Canadian fracture risk assessment tools. He has been involved with imaging research in osteoporosis and arthritis using a number of different imaging techniques. He attributes much of his success to his many students and colleagues with whom he has collaborated. Dr Adachi has over 500 peer-reviewed publications and is a respected leader in bone research in Canada and internationally.

Dr. Robert Rottapel – Eaton Basic Science Researcher of the Year

Dr. Robert Rottapel is a rheumatologist at St. Michael’s Hospital and a senior scientist at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre where he holds the Amgen Chair for Cancer Research. He is Professor of Medicine, Immunology and Medical Biophysics at the University of Toronto. He serves on the national executive of the Terry Fox Research Institute and is a program director at the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research.

Dr. Rottapel’s laboratory focuses on signalling pathways regulating immune networks in arthritis, monogenic autoinflammatory disorders and the autoimmunity triggered by immune checkpoint inhibitors in cancer patients. He is a founding member of Northern Biologics, a Toronto-based biotechnology company developing novel antibody-based therapeutics in fibrosis and oncology.

Dr. Rottapel is an avid flutist and has served on the Board of Directors of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, SoundStreams Canada and the Toronto Bach Festival.

The Eaton Basic Science Research of the Year is awarded to a member of the Department of Medicine (University of Toronto) who has demonstrated sustained excellence as a scientist and role model over several years.


The access code to enter this site can be found on page 4 of the most recent issue of The Journal of the Canadian Rheumatology Association (CRAJ) or at the top of the most recent CRAJ email blast you received. Healthcare professionals can also obtain the access code by sending an email to

Remember Me