Spring 2016 (Volume 26, Number 1)

Awards, Appointments, Accolades

Download PDF


Mr. Paul Adam was the 2015 winner of the Association of Rheumatology Health Professionals (ARHP) President’s Award. The ARHP President's Award is awarded to the ACR/ARHP member or team performing outstanding service within the present year in advancing the goals, ideals, and standards of ARHP. This award recognized his contributions over the past several years in the area of eLearning. Mr. Adam chaired the eLearning sub-committee for two years and was part of the team that created the concept of eBytes learning modules. This past year he wrote an Online Learning Position Paper which detailed a variety of strategies and recommendations for individualizing the online learning experience on the new ACR/ARHP Learning Management System. Mr. Adam is the Rheumatology Liaison & Outreach Services Coordinator at the Mary Pack Arthritis Program in Vancouver, British Columbia.



Dr. Linda Li was selected for the 2015 Association of Rheumatology Health Professional (ARHP) Distinguished Scholar Award. ARHP is the health professional division of the American College of Rheumatology (ACR). This is the highest award given by the ARHP for research. The award recognized Dr. Li’s key contributions to understanding help-seeking behaviour in people with arthritis and her innovative work in using digital media interventions to improve the management of arthritis.

Dr. Li is an associate professor at the University of British Columbia (UBC), as well as the Harold Robinson/Arthritis Society Chair in Arthritic Diseases and the Canada Research Chair in Patient-Oriented Knowledge Translation at UBC and Arthritis Research Canada. Her work was also recognized previously by major awards, including a CIHR New Investigator Award, an ACR Health Professional New Investigator Award, and a Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Career Investigator Award.



Dr. Robert Inman was recently honoured with the designation of American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Master. Recognition as a Master is one of the highest honours that the ACR bestows on its distinguished members. The designation of Master is conferred on ACR members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology through scholarly achievement and service to their patients, students, and the rheumatology profession. Honourees have devoted their careers to furthering rheumatology research and improving clinical standards in the treatment of rheumatic diseases. The Master must be distinguished by the excellence and significance of his or her contributions to the science and art of rheumatology. “It’s an honour to be recognized for my commitment to advancing the health of patients with rheumatic diseases,” said Dr. Inman. “I am humbled to receive this designation and join the ranks of many distinguished rheumatologists.”

Dr. Inman’s research interests have focused on the interaction of infection with autoimmunity, and on clinical and basic aspects of spondyloarthritis (SpA). He has published more than 350 manuscripts and chapters. Dr. Inman is currently Director of the Arthritis Center of Excellence at the University Health Network, Director of the Spondylitis Program at Toronto Western Hospital, and Deputy Physician in Chief, Research at University Health Network, in Toronto.

Issue Skyscraper